Tags

, , , , ,

Yesterday TC and I had finished up at a wings night at Original Joe’s with a few other people.  It was one of those nights where we both felt like something more to eat, so we went in search of coffee and cake.  First stop was Kawa on 8th Street, but having a live jazz band meant there was not a spare seat in the house.  So we decided to move on and went to Steeps a couple of blocks away on 17th Avenue just east of 8th Street.

It was the first time TC had been to Steeps, and he was happy with the choice.  The staff are excellent and the tea first rate.  They brew the tea for each person in a french press, I’m not super keen on this method but it’s okay (I prefer a proper tea pot).  They have a broad selection of loose leaf tea from which to choose.  I believe that you can also buy loose leaf tea to use at home, but I haven’t tried that.

I had English Breakfast and TC had Earl Grey.  They didn’t have any of black tea Earl Grey in stock so he ended up with the Rooibos variant, apparently this was tasty.  They provide the small Chinese style porcelain tea cups, but there are also cups and saucers available to the side.  I opted for the cup and saucer, while TC went with the Chinese option.  Not having milk immediately available was a little disappointing, but as it was close to 21:00 I’ll forgive them.

With tea TC had a piece of biscotti and I went for the carrot cake.  The cake size was generous without being overly large, and it was very moist.  It seemed to me that they used a lot of butter to make it, which is just the way I like it.  So all in all a good variation on a cafe if you feel like a tea rather than coffee.

