Tags

, , , ,

I’ve been to The Big Cheese a number of times, and two Sundays ago TC got a chance to try the poutinerie.  There are over 20 poutines on the menu split out into subcategories such as traditional, vegetarian, chicken, pork and beef.  Poutine of course being a traditional Canadian dish of curds and poutine sauce (a type of brown sauce/gravy) over fries.

TC went with a large Notorious P.I.G. and I settled on a small Philly cheese steak poutine.  The P.I.G. has bacon, sausage, mushrooms and onions while the Philly cheese steak has shaved beef, cheese sauce, peppers, mushrooms and onions.  In both cases the mushrooms have been sautéed and the onions are caramelized.

Both meals eaten in short order and hit the spot nicely.  The Yukon gold potato fries are cooked nicely, not to soft but not undercooked either.  Washing down the poutine was a bottle of water for TC and a Pop Shoppe Lime Rickey for myself.  The total cost was just under $25 and I will certainly be going back.